Nuptials in the clearing

Why did he steal her from my ribs?
I should have kept her naked.
I should have made the elephants
clothe her in their bathing water
so I could spend my hungry days
cleaning all the parts he overlooked.
I should have broke the serpent’s back
and clamp his foul mouth over himself
so she could wear it around her neck.
I should have hanged her upside-down
from the tree we tried to mangle
so I could admire her whenever.
But now she is swollen with the world.
I should have signed in triplicate.

~ by Jeremy on November 22, 2011.

One Response to “Nuptials in the clearing”

  1. I like the allegory here – very nice.

Leave a Reply

 
