My ears they perk at the devil’s doings

What cacophony what a chattering of protestant imps!
This city it bloated obese on the enthusiasm of Neanderthals.
A vulgar cult of delirium unceasing whose priests are lazy gimps!

Some foul villain has devoured the youthfuls’ wherewithal.
Fathom only if heroic and unadoring the allure of Satan’s pimps!
Pray for a revival of the hedonist duty and the adulterer’s gall.

Behold a mess of sinners how their droves wade happy into Hades limp!
Miserable biology! The stray mob’s chicanery threatens the Fall.
What an orgy of the lecherous their carols like the estrous of chimps!

I bygone me plundered years ago the intellect of man and gave it overhaul.
Each man held reason’s seat in his clan and not his meager brain-crimps.
I kinky me hewed narrowly man’s every neuron until man surrendered all!

said the pale old man out of breath and sweating much his mouth devoid of teeth

I began the poem in the terza rima style but failed to maintain the scheme. The sole excuse for the poem’s diction is the form and the use of a frame character for the speaker’s voice. That idea was probably borrowed from one of Cummings’ poems. I have been experimenting with avoiding the use of commas. I don’t know which title I like better, “My ears they perk at the devil’s doings” or “My ears they perk at the devil’s rally.” I was bothered by the ending. The original ending tercet is below.

I bygone me plundered years ago the intellect of man and gave it overhaul.
Each man held reason’s seat in his clan and not his meager brain-crimps.
I kinky me hewed narrowly man’s every neuron until men yielded to pleasure all!

~ by Jeremy on April 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
