Exercise in channeling

Young man says: I do not work or want to work.
The flowers all of them grow over my feet.
I must be half a lady and half Portuguese
from another century, lazy as a cardinal sin.
Gravedigger says: I was fired for not having
enough work to do or burn up the coals all
quenching, red as the inside of a kidney.
Widow she says: I employed the both of you
at one thousand zinc apiece and my husband
still talks to me in my bedroom rotting.
Husband he says: I bear company, strange fruit
them, that rub their little fingers over
your outline of your neck on your pillow, ma’am.

~ by Jeremy on May 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
