In the dead letter

History is an argument between children,
twins, and a third leper who crept in
the house budget; the first, anodyne
and pale, his brother a lunatic
clad in tin-foil and smallpox.
What a sacrilegious litter
that bred the worst theologies
suffered by mankind, the best
grammars ever to grace agile lips
as they scarfed black bread and wine.
Whoever boxes these boys
had better afterward toe the line.

~ by Jeremy on May 16, 2013.

2 Responses to “In the dead letter”

  1. I can tell a lot of thought went into this poem, because it’s well written. Good job; I will return to read more from you.

    I have a new writing blog that I created after self-publishing my first novel on Kindle. Please check it out and share your writing experiences with me!
    http://gdalexander.wordpress.com/
    -G.D.

  2. “I can tell a lot of thought went into this poem, because it’s well written.”

    The one does not imply the other.

    Thank you. I just visited your blog. I do not much travel in the blogosphere but I might have something to say every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

 
